Are fire bricks necesarry?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

p575

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I have an older woodstove, Craft is the name brand. When I got it from my grandparents, it didn't have any bricks in it when I got it. I've been burning it for a few years without any in it. Am I asking for trouble? If it does need them, do they just go in the bottom or do the sides need to be lined as well?

I use bricks everywhere I can.

If you have a thin stove you will warp it without bricks. I’ve never seen a burn through but have heard of them. The stove will hold its heat better a lot better if you have bricks,

And a biggie, with bricks the hot coals and embers will last long enough to start your morning fire. I have found the stove in my shop will hold coals for 2 days and are hot enough to re-start a fire.

Is your stove steel plate or cast iron? No fire brick in our Vermont Castings, and no place to put any.

You can use refractory cement

Most good stove shops or brick yards sell the fire brick and the cement to stick them together Here in Minnesota Coring-Donahiew <spelling? in Saint Paul sell the stuff its spendy but fireproof when set up. I have used it in setting tiles in chimineys made from block and used as a liner worked great!

Newer designed stove's have steel slots or brackets on the side's to secure the fire-bricks in place..

A major benefit of firebrick lining of stove firebox, is to keep it hot, keeping combustion temps high. Results in more complete combustion, enabling higher efficiency.

Works for me.

Newer designed stove's have steel slots or brackets on the side's to secure the fire-bricks in place..