Best climbing rope?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ace12

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
What brand, type, and size of rope do you guys use for climbing? I am new to this and would like to invest in some rope for recreational climbing, but after doing some research, there is just too many to chose from. I would rather rely on the opinions of experienced pros. Right now I have some PMI static Kernmantle 11mm that was gave to me. This stuff is pretty stiff, not sure if that is good or bad for climbing. Thanks in advance for your input.

static kermantle will not work for a climbing line. Too stiff. I am currently using arbormaster BRW, it's 1/2" and pretty easy to hold. The friction hitch slides well with it and it also holds a hitch well. I have also used Safety blue and hi-vee, which were good. I found them not to slide the friction hitch quite as well as the arbormaster though. Others may suggest different ropes but this is what I have tried and what worked for me. Stay away from the smaller than 1/2" ropes if your going to be using traditional techniques. Have fun and be safe.....

Thanks for replying. I'm going to start out using DdRT, but also plan on learning SRT in the future. My first step is getting some gear. Saddle, Rope, helmet, ect. I'm looking at the Petzl sequoia for a harness.

Second hand rope ????

Welcome and good luck . I am learning using Arbormaster Bluestreak (1/2) and have no complaints . I seriously question someone "giving you a rope" . I have learned from this site and reading that you MUST know the history of any life supporting gear . To use a rope passed on to you is not wise , unless it is brand new . A rope may look fine but you do not know what loads and shocks it has been subjected to . Remember that you may not get a second chance if you take a fall . Best of luck and have fun .

Best climbing rope?