Bidding question, new guy here

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dschroeder

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I’m going to be looking at an apartment complex job this weekend that they want the lower branches removed on all the “pine trees” for mowers to go underneath easier up to 5-6ft (seems that’s what everyone says they have because of the needles lol). Being pretty new to doing tree work is there an easy way to “guess” at time it’ll take per tree? I’m equipped with a few chainsaws and a echo power pruner.

I’ve been doing tree work for my HOA for a few years and by word of mouth have gotten a few calls to do outside work. With the HOA they just have me submit a bill after it’s complete and cut a check so haven’t had to estimate a jobs cost.

You haven't paid attention to roughly how much time it takes you to do the work at the HOA? How do you decide how much to bill them? If per hour, how much do you get done per hour (or day...)?

You hauling everything away too? In what?

Not seeing the trees, it could be 5 minutes per tree or an hour per tree. Just look and think "how long will it take to make proper cuts and achieve what they want?" and "how long will it take me to clean it up to their expectations?" You'll get better with time.

PS: if they are modest sized trees, using a good handsaw is just as quick and safer than chainsaws...

I bid things at 300$ an hour cutting time . Which w o a bobcat will get you about 100$ an hourwhich is pretty good. Then figure out what i need. Before I did not have a bobcat if I needed one I'd do an extra 400$ if it was a huge job I'd get a claw truck 150-200$ a load. But a lot of this has to do with your area of where you are at. Always go high you can always come down