Cabling and Bracing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

electrictrimmer

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
In my area cabling and bracing in non-existant. Nobody does this and I want to start installing cables and braces. I have read plenty of materials on this subject, but is there anything else I should know. If you could, please give me some install tips, where to purchase the equipment to install, specs and how to sell this service. I am just getting started on my own and I dont know anything about sales. Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

My advice would be to start slow, learn how to splice rather than using easy eyes, it'll keep your overhead down and there are lots of tricks you need to know to get easy eyes to work properly and look good.

If you're using J lags, then you can get by with just a cordless drill and not a gas powered one. You will need a gas drill if you're doing through bolts and rods.

Practice your splicing on the ground, so you will be fast when you get in the tree.

You will need a gas drill if you're doing through bolts and rods. .
But not for through-drilling cable width and using terminal fasteners.

Can't splice EHS cable; why sacrifice strength for tradition?

If you have a question about marketing with the BMP's, ask away.

Marketing with BMPs? I am ALWAYS interested in learning how to improve my marketing.

By the way: I'm completely on your side with abandoning the lower strength (splicable) strand and going to EHS. It's harder to work with, but so much stronger. It may be practical to save money in the end by using lighter EHS strand than heavier & thicker conventional strand.

To keep costs down, consider wire nuts. Although some at this website disapprove of them, I find that they work pretty well. I don't really do much cabling, so you can take my advice for what you think it's worth.