Carbide Chain

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Novaknives

Treekiller
Reaction score
There doesn't seem to be much info on carbide chains on AS... Whats your experience with carbide chain? I`m looking for a carbide milling chain, does anyone have experience with this?

While no experience on a saw I’ve had many years experience using carbide. Very heavy so extra strain on your saw, you will need a special wheel to sharpen it or sent to a shop with carbide sharpening capabilities, cost us very high.

I have no experience with it as far as milling/cutting firewood, but have used it several times at work on structure fires. Screws, nails, and soft metal don’t effect them at all. I’ve seen it used to cut the sheet metal on a semi trailer to gain access to a fire. The only one I’ve seen ruined was ran into a cast water radiator on the opposite side of a wall. You won’t find many people using them outside of fire rescue, or demolition crews due to expense, and difficulty sharpening.

Out side of FF uses they are worthless. The ones FF uses are specific for search and rescue where as cost is not a concern. Those have specific carbide cutting teeth. The carbide platted teeth are much better for cutting wood, but they are marginal for cutting wood in my point of view. A good high quality chain with a well setup saw is hard to beat. Thanks

There doesn't seem to be much info on carbide chains on AS... Whats your experience with carbide chain? I`m looking for a carbide milling chain, does anyone have experience with this?
There have been posts on carbide. Just search 'carbide'. Used them in fire service as noted . Carbide chains we used called a bullet chain made by or for Cutters Edge fire saws. Primarily for cutting ventilation holes. Actually not really very good at all for firewood cutting.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk