Cedar...Help!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amy

Reaction score
I'm new to this whole logging thing. But it is going to hopefully support my fiance` and I.

My question is about northern white cedar. I was wondering what the prices are for say a good, straight 12 " or larger cedar tree.

We have about 80 cord of beautiful cedar and just want to know what it's going for.

We're in Wisconsin.

Thanks for your help!

Amy,ARE you planing to log the trees yourself,or have a company come in and cut it for you.Next question what do you mean by 80 cords?You will not want to cut trees under 18 inches in diameter no money in small trees plus you will want trees to cut again in 15 to 20 years.The best thing you can do is find a good forester he can give you a very close figure on the worth of your trees plus help you mark valueable trees as well as ones to leave and ones to remove for better grow for years to come.Becareful of who does the logging,check some of the jobs they have done.You don't to head out to the woods only to find some set a bomb off.There is alot more to look at than logging than cutting trees and getting money:D Dan

Re:cedar help

No, I'm not planning on logging the tree's myself, although if we had a portable mill we would. Which is why I'm wondering about cedar prices. Nobody know's Approximate numbers...it's like it's all hush hush.

Second--you ask what do I mean about 80 cords. On my "history" sheet of the land it say's 80 cords of cedar usable AS lumber, veneer etc. A forester came in and marked them etc.

I realise there is more to logging than just cutting and making money. Just because I'm knew to this does not mean I don't have an understanding of what it's about.