Chain pitch question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maxamow

Perpetual lurker
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I need a chain for my new bar which is a 14 inch 1/4 pitch with a roller nose. Being a chainsaw noob I've already bought the wrong chain once so i thought i would double check here. Im looking at a 14 inch chain, 1/4 pitch, 72 drive link, .50 gauge thickness. I have already bought a 1/4 sprocket for the saw also. Am i missing anything?

I need a chain for my new bar which is a 14 inch 1/4 pitch with a roller nose.
Welcome to A.S.!

Let's start with some basics:
This is a 'roller nose':
Screen shot 2018-09-18 at 10.00.21 PM.png

This is a 'sprocket tip':

Screen shot 2018-09-18 at 10.01.07 PM.png

Which do you have?

The exact length of a chain loop varies - not all '14-inch' bars are the same. That is why we measure loops by the number of drive links. This may be stamped on the side of your bar (e.g. 'xx DL'), along with the pitch (1/4") and gauge (.043, .050, .063, etc.). If you are replacing a chain that fits, just count the number of drive links on the old loop.

Roller nose bars can be used with any pitch chain, as long as they are the correct gauge. Sprocket tip bars must be used with chains that match the pitch of the nose sprocket.

Philbert

I need a chain for my new bar which is a 14 inch 1/4 pitch with a roller nose. Being a chainsaw noob I've already bought the wrong chain once so i thought i would double check here. Im looking at a 14 inch chain, 1/4 pitch, 72 drive link, .50 gauge thickness. I have already bought a 1/4 sprocket for the saw also. Am i missing anything?
Well, for most other chain pitches, cutter type. In 1/4 pitch, your options are much more limited. Is this going to be used for carving or normal cutting?

https://loggerchain.com/25AP072G-CA...050-gauge-72-Drive-links-25AP072G-25AP072.htm