Chainsaw Chain types

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeremy K

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
im new to the firewood chopping and splitting. i am going to be cutting about 8 cords a year im looking for a nice chain that will really let the sawdust fly and cut quickly through some trees.i currently have a remington outlaw but im switching to a husky 455 rancher.

Thanks for the replies, I'm just wondering what the difference between anti kick back,chisel and semi chisel is, I bought a jonsered chain a couple weeks back and it throws chips well I'm sure it's anti kick back since I got it from tractor supply.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

In my opinion there are two chains. Chisel and semi chisel. In a similar thread it is mentioned that there are about 10 major chains available for most saws. For most part the previous mentioned chains come down to two types. The chisel is more aggressive than the semi chisel which has rounded cutting teeth. The rounded cutting teeth are much more forgiving when coming with a little dirt or debri. Of course there are many speciality chains, but we are taking about commonly used chains. The low kick back chains have links that stick up above the actual chain links so that a person can not jam the tip of the saw in to a piece of wood and get full contact with the cutting teeth. This chain design will jerk up much less than a pro design chain. For a beginner a low kick back design is much more preferred so that the cutting experience is not marred with severe injury. I have used the rancher saws which are pretty good. My smaller saws are the Husky 460 because I wanted some throw away saws. There is only a small amount of difference in the Husky 455 and the Husky 460. They are a great value. Thanks