Chainsaw Milling on a Budget

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheHomeliteKid

Reaction score
Hi, I new here so I'm kind of learning how to navigate the site and figure things out. Anyways, I found some really nice logs in the bush near my cottage and I would like to mill them to make some money for college. Currently, my biggest saw is a Stihl MS270 running a 20" bar and at 50cc, I know that it is not nearly powerful enough for the logs that I want to mill. I understand that the minimum is 60cc? I know that in my area a Granberg MkIII 30" mill goes for about $330 which I am willing to pay but it is the saw that is the problem. I am not a mechanical idiot and have worked on many older saws so doing repairs to an older one in need of TLC would not be a problem. My question is, what would be a good saw, that I can acquire for less that $200 that would be capable of milling 28" diameter logs and what else should I know before making the investment in a mill and a saw?

Thanks in advance,
TheHomeliteKid

Currently, my biggest saw is a Stihl MS270 running a 20" bar and at 50cc, I know that it is not nearly powerful enough for the logs that I want to mill. I understand that the minimum is 60cc?

I don't know where you get the idea that 60cc is a minimum. Even a 50cc saw could be used to mill successfully for long periods. It needs to be a decent solid saw and not one of these all plastic $99 pruning saws that you find in a big box hardware store. As long as it is well maintained, tuned a little on the rich side, chain kept sharp, and not asked to pull too large a bar i.e. no longer than a 20" bar or say 14-15" cut.

My question is, what would be a good saw, that I can acquire for less that $200 that would be capable of milling 28" diameter logs and what else should I know before making the investment in a mill and a saw?