Cheap Stihl saws

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harley

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Howdy everybody,

How can I buy a Stihl cheaper than what my dealers wants?
Thanks for your help

Harley

try ebay - or drive to another stihl dealer. stihl does not allow internet, phone or mail order. im pretty darn certain that you will find the prices on stihls pretty similar everywhere, since stihl keeps their dealers in a stranglehold.

Thats the reason why I posted.

There are numerous dealers around here, however they all get their prices out of a Stihl guide for the area. Most are not that knowledgeable, and even the ones that are good, don't know everything. I don't feel like paying them too much money.

I check E-bay now every couple of days. I'm just learning about how to check sellers out on there. Its pretty interesting.

Harley

Email Gypo Logger. He is always selling new Stihls at reasonable prices. I think he ambushes the trucks as they go through his part of Oh Canada and hijacks them with his Greffardized Jonsered 2171. He has to use it for that because it sure hasnt cut any wood yet.

You probably can't because margins are pretty slim. Dealers will throw in hats and extra chains but substantial discounts are pretty rare.

Since you're in PA, you might want to check with some Canadian dealers. There's a rumor that chain saws in Canada are 20% cheaper due to some weird Canadian law having to do with government mandated northern climate discounts.

Anyone know the details?

Originally posted by Harley
Howdy everybody,

How can I buy a Stihl cheaper than what my dealers wants?
Thanks for your help

Harley

Harley,