ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


Check out my old Homelite XL

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by jermil01, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. a. palmer jr.

    a. palmer jr. Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    13,471
    Likes Received:
    4,036
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    A 14" bar is just about right for the Super 2. It's possible to buy a longer bar but it cuts down the power. I think I have a 20" bar that will fit on a Super 2, I think it came off a 240 or 245 Homelite saw but I never have put it on a saw.
     
    woodeneye likes this.
  2. woodeneye

    woodeneye Hardwood Hunter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Northwest MO
    Yup, just look up by model name, not number. Easy peasy.
     
    a. palmer jr. likes this.
  3. Eccentric

    Eccentric Mister Wizard

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    14,217
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Northwestern Wyoming
    woodeneye likes this.
  4. a. palmer jr.

    a. palmer jr. Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    13,471
    Likes Received:
    4,036
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
  5. jprice88

    jprice88 ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ok on the Oregon parts site the ut10618 "XL" doesn't show up any help here?
     
  6. Eccentric

    Eccentric Mister Wizard

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    14,217
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Northwestern Wyoming
    You using their bar/chain selector utility? Try another model in the series. XL2, Super2, Bandit, etc. As long as the bar as the A061 or T061 mount code you're golden.
     
  7. Eccentric

    Eccentric Mister Wizard

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    14,217
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Northwestern Wyoming
  8. jprice88

    jprice88 ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ok so I see a series of xl's listed 10,12,14,16,18 like XL-14 is that based off the original bar?
     
  9. Eccentric

    Eccentric Mister Wizard

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    14,217
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Northwestern Wyoming
    No. The original Homelite 'XL' model was the XL-12. Totally different saw than what's been discussed in this thread. The '12' was a reference to the saw's claimed 12 pound dry weight (PHO).

    Homelite has used 'XL' for several different (and unrelated) saw families over the decades. XL-12 series, XL-101 series, XL-1 (E-Z) series, XL-700/800/900 series, XL/XL2/Super2/etc series, etc. The numbers rarely had any relation to any aspect/characteristic of the saws....
     
  10. BrennMan

    BrennMan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I know this thread is old but it pertains to my situation so perfectly I couldn’t resist reviving it.

    I have (I believe) the same saw as the OP and I am having trouble getting it to run.

    I can get it to fire up on full joke and it will run for 30 seconds or so then die. I cleaned the entire carb and put on a fresh air filter.

    After it dies I have to rechoke it and pull a half dozen times or so then it will fire again and run for 30 seconds or so.

    The only thing I can think of is the fact that I don’t have a chain on it current so maybe there isn’t enough “load” on the motor?

    Would you expect this saw to run normally without a chain on?

    Here are some pics for giggles.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Adirondackstihl

    Adirondackstihl Flyz, Fuel & Fotos

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5,949
    Likes Received:
    8,372
    Location:
    North Country NY
    Duck bill valve in the fuel tank is probably mush
     
  12. pioneerguy600

    pioneerguy600 Lost in Space Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    39,511
    Likes Received:
    21,065
    Location:
    N.S. Canada
    It would run fine without a bar and chain on it. More likely a fuel related issue,anything from a bad /damaged fuel line, tank filter, impulse passage or interior carb problem. Did you replace all the inner carb parts?
     
    bulletpruf and Adirondackstihl like this.

Share This Page