Chipper Clutch Engagement

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vanlannw

Reaction score
Hello,
I am an engineering student working on my senior design project. I have been assigned to design a hydraulic clutch engage/disengage system to replace the manual clutch system to be used primarily on wood chippers. I have had very little exposure to wood chippers and I would like to hear your thoughts on manual vs hydraulic systems.

Chipper Info
6.8L Ford V-10
Fuel: LPG - 280ft-lbs(continuous), 160HP

Hydraulic system concept
Push a button -> Clutch Engages

Thank you for your time

Nick

I've often joked that the curent engaement systems are so good the only improvment possible would be automatic.

For safety reasons I think it would have to be push and hold, or a similar turn switch. Same for disengage so that it cannot be bumped in/out.

RPM lockout, will not (dis)engage unles in a certain range of RPM. Ive heard that many require a set rundown time at low rpm to cool the bearings. So to disengage you would turn down the throttle, hold the switch till a light comes on, then when the RPM and time requirment are met, the clutch disenguages.

Similar for enguage, especialy in cold weather, you get a timed start up so that everything gets a chance to warmup. Flip a switch and the computer contol waits for the engin temp to come up before enguaging the PTO, then the PTO meets the timed warmup the throttle enguages it all could be run from a single pannel and you dont have yanking the throtle handle off.

John? thats the first ive ever heard about
lowering the RPM until the bearings cool
Should i start to do that on my Whisper chipper?