Cleaned my pipe and stove, pictures

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

U&A

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
This is my first winter with an EPA stove. Pacific Energy Summit. I just wanted to share pictures of my stove pipe and the cap to show the accumulation of creosote and get your thoughts.

Burning 3-6 year old hardwoods.
Started out loading the stove east to west and I was getting an accumulation of black and brown on my glass. I would have to clean the glass every other day. Granted this was the first time im new to this type of stove so I may have been running it cooler than I should have. The past four weeks I’ve been loading the stove north to south and I have not had to clean the glass since. Stove ran exceptionally well Like this. I also have started to get the hang of how to operate it efficiently so that helps, LOL.

Anyway, here are the pics. Looking inside the pipe Picture was taken from top down. One picture shows 2 1/2 gallon shop vac that I put inside the stove tight to the bottom of the stove pipe to catch everything. There is about 3/4 inch accumulation of stuff in the bottom of the bucket as well as the sock filter from the vacuum that I threw inside.

This is about 2 months of burning

0c3134a1cf04b0da6bad68ae90be528a.jpg
d55178028054e1ed3d58e1d4a54f48af.jpg
6250a576f7f9d21011a2020c5defac6e.jpg
945a4a2f7e31b039bad257d5929d2d08.jpg
bd91c7b41d212e379a2e4d0ce1195961.jpg
1c9c3521205d7d78f4b35e465a8762b8.jpg

2 things I notice...

It can be an either or, or a combination....

Woods still too wet and/or you're not burning your fires hot enough.

Ill get half that amount of crud from our main flue for an entire heating season. This falls cleaning I got about 1 cup.

You say 3-6 year old hardwoods... Is that cut and split for 3-6 years?

Do you have a thermometer on your chimney just above the stove?