Climbing Techniques

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Redman-Racer

Reaction score
Hello, Im new to climbing and I'm wondering what techniques you guys use.

I've been practice for the last couple of month on a DRT use the blakes hitch, and to advance I use a home made lanyard to tie in with. Throw the throw bag on farther up, pull the climbing line up, untie the blakes hitch, unhook, re-hook, re-tie, and continue climbing. Also i have someone on the ground pulling the slack so I can advance the hitch, (cant get the footlocking thing down)

Also, what are some of your opinions on redirects? I have no clue about how to get them in place, or what to use for them. What are some other options to use when limb walking?

Last edited:
old threads

Look back at some of the old threads. Lot of good info there. If foot lock is not your thing. Get a pantin or cmi foot ascender. There is several other tree forums to find info on also. Be safe. SDS

Thanks guys, ill have to look into those foot ascenders. Ive seen them, just wasn't sure how well they worked. Are they basically just another hitch with a loop? was thinking maybe I could rig something up. Money is so tight with us right now, as most of the little bit of money we do make goes on newer and better equipment.

I've read about SRT, but sounds like allot of rigging and allot of money.

This seems like a great site, with allot of helpful information. Look forward to being apart of the community.

Hi redman. Reading your opening post, you are ascending in the most difficult manner there is. Re-throwing a shotbag while in the tree is almost a certain way to frustrate your day. Having two men working on one man's ascent, it gets no slower or more tiring or more time-inefficient.

I'm not being a critic. If a seasoned pro were to use these methods they would slow an otherwise fast climber.