Climbing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YoungTreeGuy

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
So Ive been climbing for about 5 years now. Basically use the same gear as other local climbers in the area.

I use saddle with a sliding D-Ring in the front with 2 leg straps. Lanyard made from 1/2in climbing rope, and a saw snap with an old seatbelt. Usually throw my safety line to nearest crouch and tie a sliding noose knot with 3 wraps on bottom 2 on top( more than this seems to make it hard to ascend/decend) then knot the tail end so it doesn't losen up(throw ball if I can' reach the first crouch). I'll work off any branches on my way up to the top, take the canopy out, take the wood down to But-log. So... Tree gaffs, Saddle, 1/2in Climbing line, 2x 3/4in swing line, and a 1in Bullline for the big trees.

Is there any special gear I should be using? Will OSHA give me a hard time about what I'm using now? Any suggestions?

So Ive been climbing for about 5 years now. Basically use the same gear as other local climbers in the area.

I use saddle with a sliding D-Ring in the front with 2 leg straps. Lanyard made from 1/2in climbing rope, and a saw snap with an old seatbelt. Usually throw my safety line to nearest crouch and tie a sliding noose knot with 3 wraps on bottom 2 on top( more than this seems to make it hard to ascend/decend) then knot the tail end so it doesn't losen up(throw ball if I can' reach the first crouch). I'll work off any branches on my way up to the top, take the canopy out, take the wood down to But-log. So... Tree gaffs, Saddle, 1/2in Climbing line, 2x 3/4in swing line, and a 1in Bullline for the big trees.

Is there any special gear I should be using? Will OSHA give me a hard time about what I'm using now? Any suggestions?