Complete Noob Builds a Splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pipe Man

Reaction score
First of all I need to introduce myself. I'm a project manager for a medium sized industrial construction firm in Houston where I live. My interest here is purely for myself and family plus some Christmas money each year.

I currently have a tractor supply model 15 ton vertical splitter. I have the skills and ability to build my own plus I have tons of spare parts laying around. I've been lurking around the forum here for a while and have read and looked through several builds and I'm very impressed with the fabrication and design skills and knowledge that are housed here. I'm going to build a splitter around a used cylinder I have in my yard. It's a 10" cylinder with an 8" piston and a 96" stroke so I should be able to split anything I want.

I've been looking at several designs for the splitter blade, and I have come to the conclusion that I'll build a sliding square style box blade found on the Cord King or other processors. My question comes from the fact that I can't see the use in welding the blades in at multiple angles with a circle mixed in; when I could just weld the blades in a grid pattern. Is there a performance advantage for the angles with the circle or with a grid perform just as well?

I really appreciate all the help.

10" cyl. and 8" piston - so the cylinder walls are 1" thick? This cylinder will have a volume of 33.5 cu. ft. and need 234.5 gallons to fill it. WRONG - see below.
Are you sure your measurements are correct?
What are you going to use for a pump and motor?

Your math is a little off on the cylinder. It will only take 20.877 gallons to fill it.

I have the pump and motor off a 30 Ton crane I haven't looked at the exact flow but it should be north of 100 GPM

I have a 36" splitter.