Dangerous tree in need of expert opinion

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Should the entire tree be removed?

• Total voters

Corey Packwood

Reaction score
1112171028_HDR.jpg 1112171028c_HDR.jpg 1112171028c_HDR.jpg 1112171028b_HDR.jpg 1112171028a_HDR.jpg 1112171028_HDR.jpg 1112171028a_HDR.jpg 1112171028_HDR.jpg Hi my name is Corey I'm a landscaper in Snohomish I take care of a trailer park and there is this very large cottonwood tree that is of concern I need a expert1112171028c_HDR.jpg 1112171028b_HDR.jpg opinion to confirm my suspicions of its deadly nature. The tree is leaning towards trailers and branches of already fallen before. I have had a tree removal company advise it be taken down not just cleaned up but my manager is worried about a biased opinion because of their business motivation. This seems like a third party it would be a great help to get an opinion. Lives are on the line thank you

What makes you think it needs "thinned"? There are a few dead limbs that should probably come out.

I agree with your manager...a tree removal company is probably not who you want to ask if it should be removed. I could have told you their answer without pictures.

Look for a Tree Risk Assessment Qualified Arborist at ISA's "Find an Arborist" page. Expect to pay for an evaluation - you are hiring a professional service, not asking for a bid.

Where's the dangerous tree?
Looks like a cottonwood, which are prone to sudden limb drop. Some pruning and lightening the tips of the heavy branches and good to go.
No lives on the line with this one.

Sorry, that isn't what you wanted to hear. I can read that you're gung ho to remove it.