Welcome to ArboristSite.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the ArboristSite community.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


  1. Please see this post Click Here Please ask questions if you have them!! I hope this is going to be great for us all.
    Dismiss Notice

Disable Auxillary AC on SUV

Discussion in 'Reader's Rides' started by svk, Mar 20, 2018.

  1. svk

    svk Firewood and Saw Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19,172
    Likes Received:
    43,421
    Location:
    MN
    One of the lines to the rear AC unit on my suburban has corroded and I do not want to spend the $ needed to replace the lines. Can this circuit be capped up by the condenser or does the loop need to be shortened? Just want to be able to run my front AC without the refrigerant leaking out of the line.
     
  2. Bobby Kirbos

    Bobby Kirbos Scrounger of Cellulose Based BTUs

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    2,444
    Location:
    Echo, PA - just outside of Poulan
    If they put in shut-off valves to isolate the front and rear loop, then yes. I doubt that they did this due to the cost.

    I would imagine that you can remove the rear loop from the circuit. You'll need to leak check, evacuate, then recharge the system. You'll likely need less refrigerant since the system is now smaller. A good gauge set will help. Watch the high and low pressure sides of the compressor. Liquid line pressure taps are just short of worthless.
     
    Dub11 likes this.
  3. svk

    svk Firewood and Saw Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19,172
    Likes Received:
    43,421
    Location:
    MN
    How does one cap this? Can I use brass fittings? I mean I know that is not a perfect way to do it but it's about 1500 bucks to replace those lines.
     
  4. Bobby Kirbos

    Bobby Kirbos Scrounger of Cellulose Based BTUs

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    2,444
    Location:
    Echo, PA - just outside of Poulan
    Cap, as in something like this?
    [​IMG]

    Yes, they can be capped, but the biggest problem that you're going to run into is that most car A/C systems use aluminum lines instead of copper. Good luck brazing brass or copper to aluminum without melting the aluminum.
     
    svk likes this.
  5. svk

    svk Firewood and Saw Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19,172
    Likes Received:
    43,421
    Location:
    MN
    I was thinking a flare nut with a plug?
     
  6. Bobby Kirbos

    Bobby Kirbos Scrounger of Cellulose Based BTUs

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    2,444
    Location:
    Echo, PA - just outside of Poulan
    I assume it's running R-134a. Check the pressure charts here...
    http://rechargeac.com/how-to/ac-system-pressure-chart
    The flare nut (I assume you're talking about a compression fitting) may be ok at those pressures. No guarantee it will hold for any extended period of time. I've never had good luck with compression fittings.
     
    svk likes this.
  7. svk

    svk Firewood and Saw Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19,172
    Likes Received:
    43,421
    Location:
    MN
    It is 134a. I believe that the pressure for this system should be around 40 PSI. I know that compression fittings are good for over 60 PSI but I too have had less than great luck with them.

    Going to fiddle with it tonight to see what I can figure out.
     
  8. Bobby Kirbos

    Bobby Kirbos Scrounger of Cellulose Based BTUs

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    2,444
    Location:
    Echo, PA - just outside of Poulan
    Good luck.
     
    svk likes this.
  9. ChoppyChoppy

    ChoppyChoppy Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    8,645
    Likes Received:
    7,976
    Location:
    AK

    Pressure will be around 275-350psi. (Depends on air temp)
     
  10. ChoppyChoppy

    ChoppyChoppy Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    8,645
    Likes Received:
    7,976
    Location:
    AK
    this HTML class. Value is https://www.amazon.c

    Well, it errors when putting a link. Dorman sells a kit. Napa, Schucks, etc likely carry it.
     
  11. svk

    svk Firewood and Saw Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19,172
    Likes Received:
    43,421
    Location:
    MN
    How do you figure? System says not to fill over 50 psi.
     
  12. svk

    svk Firewood and Saw Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19,172
    Likes Received:
    43,421
    Location:
    MN
    As a follow up I was able to splice in a chunk of line once I pinpointed the leak. The toughest part was working between the body and frame rails inboard of the rear wheelwell.

    It had corroded through where the clamp held the line to the bottom of the body. I suppose road salt got in there and wasn’t able to get washed out.

    Anyway I’m almost 24 hours past the fill and it is still blowing cold air so it’s a marked improvement from what it was.
     
    Dub11 likes this.
  13. ChoppyChoppy

    ChoppyChoppy Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    8,645
    Likes Received:
    7,976
    Location:
    AK
    That would be the static pressure (pressure the system is at without the compressor running).

    The compressor will get the high pressure side up to around 275-350psi. (Varies on ambient temp).

    You should be seeing this on your guage set with the system running.

    A/C hoses are generally rated for 500psi. What did you splice into the line with?
     
  14. svk

    svk Firewood and Saw Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19,172
    Likes Received:
    43,421
    Location:
    MN
    Tubing and flared fittings. It doesn’t leak so that’s all that matters.
     

Share This Page