dumb beginner ran new saw for 2-3 min with brake on...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dfphoto

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi group, I'm a complete newbie, and I ran a brand new echo 590 for a few minutes with the brake on. Of course it started to smoke but I was under the impression it was the pre-mix. The wind changed and I smelled burning rubber... I was trying to get the brake off before starting it but I honestly couldn't move it. I called them up and they said it could be very tight but I felt like I was going to snap it off.

I decided to run it as I thought maybe it's a safety issue... So what did I burn up? What should I do, exchange it? I already know I'm really dumb so with that said let me have your thoughts.

Hi group, I'm a complete newbie, and I ran a brand new echo 590 for a few minutes with the brake on. Of course it started to smoke but I was under the impression it was the pre-mix. The wind changed and I smelled burning rubber... I was trying to get the brake off before starting it but I honestly couldn't move it. I called them up and they said it could be very tight but I felt like I was going to snap it off.

I decided to run it as I thought maybe it's a safety issue... So what did I burn up? What should I do, exchange it? I already know I'm really dumb so with that said let me have your thoughts.
Not so dumb fella; I’m sure that you have a field that you are a legend in; many of us would prob make a similar newb mistake in your field and then feel pretty stupid. Well done for owning up to the mistake :dumb:

We’re gonna need pics tho; could be catastrophic may be nothing serious

Don't know if there's rubber, but if it has an inboard clutch, you were probably smelling really hot plastic. Maybe the crank seal is rubber, if that's what you smelled, it's cooked along with the plastic.