Eager Beaver 2.1 Smoking Chain Oil

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoeRich

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
All,

My apologies if this has been addressed before. I'm new to the forum so am unware of how to get around good yet.

I have a model 60013203 McCulloch Eager Beaver 2.1. Just replaced fuel line and filter, impulse tube and spark plug. She now starts and runs, but is blowing smoke like a coal fired steam engine. I'm just starting to learn 2-cycle repair and am not a super wrencher. Any help or suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Joe

All,

My apologies if this has been addressed before. I'm new to the forum so am unware of how to get around good yet.

I have a model 60013203 McCulloch Eager Beaver 2.1. Just replaced fuel line and filter, impulse tube and spark plug. She now starts and runs, but is blowing smoke like a coal fired steam engine. I'm just starting to learn 2-cycle repair and am not a super wrencher. Any help or suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Joe
Go to the chainsaw forum, click on “ stickies “, scroll down about half way down to the mini Mac thread, lotsa good info.

Wait, so is the chain smoking or the engine?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My little Homelite XL2 smokes. Duckbill in place so I figure there must be an oil line or seal that goes through the crankcase that is deteriorating. Still oils the chain though.
I don't know. Thought about tearing it all down a few times for a few seconds.

Too much oil in the gas? Not sure on thoes

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My little Homelite XL2 smokes. Duckbill in place so I figure there must be an oil line or seal that goes through the crankcase that is deteriorating. Still oils the chain though.
I don't know. Thought about tearing it all down a few times for a few seconds.