Echo cs 302 - wont start

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OldTimer40

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to this site and would like to thank everyone for all the post/information that is available. I would also like to say that I am a novice working on small engines.

Echo CS302 was given to me in excellent condition (homeowner saw, lightly used, drained oil/fuel after every use, stored in case) very well maintained. He said that he wanted a newer one with chain brake and lighter weight. The only problem he knew was that occasionally the oiler would clog up.

After obtaining it; I put a new chain on it and bought some premixed gas (just for now till I know its a good saw) and bar oil for it, When I went to use it it fired up just fine and cut a couple of small limbs but noticed the chain was too tight. So I cut it off and reset the chain and went to cut a limb in half and the chain was tight again. After investigating the bar wasn't getting oil so that is when I discovered the oil line was gone (bottom of the tank). Anyways long story short I emptied the oil and put mineral spirits in and a couple days later I got the remaining oil line out. I installed the new one and now I have plenty of oil. But since then I can not get the saw to start/run for very long.

Below are some of the things I have tried/checked:

• Compression 125 psi (done myself with wot and 6 pulls using loan-a-tool from auto parts store)
  • Muffler lid has oil around it and some on the muffler cover but inside the muffler has only a small coat of carbon
  • Checked Carb pump & metering Diaphragms look good not hard and doesn't have tears
  • Carb seals are good without tears
  • New oil line installed (see above)
  • Fuel lines appears to be good with nice clean white filter
  • If I put a couple of drops of fuel in the carb it fires until the fuel is gone then quits