Euc csanker-- Chrysoporthe austroafricana?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treeseer

Advocatus Pro Arbora
Reaction score
Euc canker spreading like wildfire in Queensland. :angry:

If you have knowledge or experience with this please respond.

I have no experience with C. austroafricana obviously, but I am curious. C. cubensis is native to Australia but C. austroafricana I thought was only South Africa. Do you (or "they") know how it got in? Importation of infected stock? From what I've read it could be very nasty...

I have no experience with C. austroafricana obviously, but I am curious. C. cubensis is native to Australia but C. austroafricana I thought was only South Africa. Do you (or "they") know how it got in? Importation of infected stock? From what I've read it could be very nasty...
No ID has been made; still trying to isolate fruiting structures.

No ID has been made; still trying to isolate fruiting structures.

See Sudden Euc Death - Arbtalk.co.uk | Discussion Forum for Arborists for the ignominious skewering I sustained at the hands of a brilliant but haughty (seems to be a genetic trait) dutchman at whose feet we laid our efforts to date.

We finally connected with a govt mycologist who is kind of in your position, who said "It should be possible to identify any microfungi isolated from the cankered tissue. If we identified some known pathogens, then this would give a good indication of what is causing the cankers.

However collecting specimens and doing the initial isolations is beyond my resources. If joebob can do this, then we might get an answer. I am sorry but I don't have time next Monday for the field visit.
So yes, drop the samples here and we'll give it a go."

Any idea what "initial isolations" means? Separating tissues out and culturing in a dish? What how where? Ack.