Falling into it.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wdchuck

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Was out on a tree line collecting last years bucked wood, and this car stops, guy gets out and asks if I want more firewood, SURE I say, always looking for more. He continues with how there is a clearing job coming up, 15+ acres all hardwood, not too far away.

He even offered to let me use one of his trailers, since mine is a 4x8 #800 axle.

I was himin&hawin about doing the treeline gathering today, really glad I went out there now.

I've never worked around pro's before, any sage advise so I don't wear out my welcome on this opportunity?

wdchuck said:
Was out on a tree line collecting last years bucked wood, and this car stops, guy gets out and asks if I want more firewood, SURE I say, always looking for more. He continues with how there is a clearing job coming up, 15+ acres all hardwood, not too far away.

He even offered to let me use one of his trailers, since mine is a 4x8 #800 axle.

I was himin&hawin about doing the treeline gathering today, really glad I went out there now.

I've never worked around pro's before, any sage advise so I don't wear out my welcome on this opportunity?

Not a pro but I have done similar work. Mostly clear cutting overgrown copses.

Be sure it is clearly understood just what you are to do.

Pile/burn all brush?
Flush cut stumps?
Any restrictions on hours/days?
Restrictions on access? Equipment?

I have been caught short a time or two when my and the owners understanding didn't quite jibe.

Harry K

THanks, he also is a CSM user, a type with a carriage. Seems like a friendly enough sort, definitely a focused, driven individual.

Maybe a dry run during the day, so I see what route is best, layout and such.