Favorite Climbing Saws

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treeclimber165

Member A.K.A Skwerl
Reaction score
Over the last year, on several forums, I have seen several inquiries about climbers preferred saws. I have lots of experience with the Echo 3400, Stihl 020T, and Poulan Super25 as well as limited experience with the new Husky. I prefer the Echo 3400 over the Stihl, mainly because of price and 'feel'. Also, the Stihl seems to not have any low end torque, it only pulls strong when wide open. If it bogs at all, you have to back it out of your cut to rev it up again. I have also had carb troubles with Stihls, and it sux dumping $100 into a saw you already spent $500 for. I can buy 2 Echo's for that much, and they have held up well for me. As for claims that the Echo's lack power, I have used them on thousands of jobs, including 150 crane removals, where I usually am making 8"-12" cuts. I have only used the Husky a couple times, but was impressed with it's feel and power. It seems like an excellent saw.

I like the new Husky, but it took a while for me to like it. They had tons of problems when they came out. It was awful. It has tons of power but still doesnt oil very well. Otherwise, I would take the 020T because I cant find parts very well for the Echo's. For the price the Echo's are nice but service means a bunch to me. Echo might be prominant in your area so we might not have the same problems.
Darin