Fiskars Super splitting axe review

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Butch(OH)

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I have been splitting wood for 40 of my 50 years and had learned one thing (I thought) When the going gets tough, get a bigger/heavier tool. My old 8lb maul has logged a lot of miles. Seen you guys talk about Fiskars splitting axes and I tought ya right what do them Europeans know about splitting anything tough. I do like the quality of Fiskars stuff and since they don't make a 8 lb maul I bought one of those #7854 Super splitting axes yesterday. I can sum it up in one word, WOW. Only thing laying around here to test it on was some hackberry that I intended to cut up with a saw. We had beat on some of it previously and just piled it up for sawing later. Stood one up and gave it a couple whacks and split off a big slab. Thinking it was a fluke I grabbed my old 8lb and no go. Now the Fiskars will often not split the tough stuff on the first go, it is light but like all their tools VERY sharp. A few well placed hits will split wood that will leave you shaking your head. My son and I soon learned to not swing it like your trying to kill something and concentrate on aim and the darned thing will split some pretty tough blocks with little effort as compared to a std maul.

I give it a big thumbs up, it isn't going to split crotch oak but any reasonable splitting its going to do with lots less effort than a standard maul, I think it weighs around 4 lbs, I didnt weigh it. One complaint is the short handle. I like to split up off the ground and that short handle will cause the head to get an ankle if you are not careful. Id like to see a similar tool with 6" more handle myself.

Oh ya, was about 40 clams