Foley Belsaw Sharpall 1055

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arbonaut

Go Climb It
Reaction score
I looked in the advanced search to find posts about the Sharpall 1055 and two threads that I started was all that came up. So I wanted to get one up here.

I've been sharpening my chain on my 1055 since I bought it new ten years ago. I did a slight modification to the feed stop screw by adding a spring that pushes it away from the stop--when you let go, the grinding wheel goes away from the chain.

The 1055 does a fine job on saw chain, you can even lower the depth gauges adequately. As it it a multi-purpose machine, though, it has limitations on chain.

The purpose of this post is to find other Foley-Belsaw Sharpall 1055 owners to share info and to discuss the limitations and tricks you may have learned to get a better finished product.

Thanks.

i recently got a 1055 and my pastors chain was the first to test my skills. it is sharp but i took more life out of it than i needed to, i don't know how but some links ended up shorter??? is there any DETAILED INSTRUCTION ON ITS USE? swinging the arm to the proper angle direction is lacking. i think i have found that the stone should come in at the chain at a 55 or 60 degree angleto keep from getting too much hook on the link. but i have found no instruction on that portion of the set up. Foley Belsaw HAD a course, they no longer offer it. i have the owners manual and they offer the same manual on CD but that info is not in there. my first sharpening job was my wifes hair cutting scissors ...... hours later i did a so,so job on them. getting the guide to hold the scissors and get the right angle was not going to well. the scissors were too narrow?? any how i'm done venting if you know of any sourses for some help i would surley appriciate it.

foley 1055