Gas Question: Premium Gas or Ethanol Free

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheWhiteLotus

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! Locally here I can get Ethanol free gas that appears to have an octane of 87 (the button says 87). Im curious if this is better than the normal premium gas i typically use. I am an occasional use firewood cutter so im not using my saws everyday, maybe just once a week. Is the ethanol free a better option? Ive read that Stihl recommends at least 89 octane so i was hesitant to get the ethanol free.

Thanks!!!

Im not one to judge a book by its cover but im assuming the gas attendants won't know. I was Only curious about ethanol free because i was hoping to use that and leave it in my blowers, trimmers, saws without draining the tanks when done using. Im assuming if the button data 87 that means it's 87 octane...im kinda new to all this!

Thanks!

I run 88 oct E free without issue. I can get a higher oct E free but it doesn't do any better than the 88. Buy the 87 E free and use a quality brand oil, tune your saw to it and cut away.

Im not one to judge a book by its cover but im assuming the gas attendants won't know. I was Only curious about ethanol free because i was hoping to use that and leave it in my blowers, trimmers, saws without draining the tanks when done using. Im assuming if the button data 87 that means it's 87 octane...im kinda new to all this!

Thanks!

My Gas Station sells "Conventional Premium". I finally asked what that was, and the young girl attendant said it was Ethanol Free. They might know. It costs nothing to ask.

Thanks!

That won’t work either . Fuel volatility will decrease if it isn’t in a sealed container.
The additives that help it ignite are the first to dissipate.
Then the octane drops.
Many will disagree. They are wrong.