Getting deep grooves in slabs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ADK_XJ

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all, it's my first time chainsaw milling with a Granberg setup and, before I buy a high power saw, I figured I'd give it a shot with a small(ish) cherry log with my old Stihl 041.

Well, I can tell I will want a bigger saw as it very slow going and I blew a tank of gas on two cuts. However, my bigger issue is that I'm getting deep grooves across the length of the slab which indicates to me I'm not getting a consistent cut.

Aside from being my first time, I'm wondering if a factor could be the chain I'm using? I got a 2 pack of Forester "ripping" chains but they look to me like regular cross cut chains with a 10° angle.

The other thing is that the chain became somewhat loose fairly early into the cut...not like flapping in the wind but visibly not tight. The tightener was covered by the bar clamp and so I did not adjust mid cut.

I used 2x4s screwed into the top of the log to setup my first cut, which worked OK but probably could have been done better using slab brackets.

Anyway, any and all suggestions welcome.

2x6 or 8 will be better. How much wear on your bar rails? It's my belief that a worn bar does not apply well with milling.
Thanks for your reply, what would the benefit be of the wider boards? Just more stability?

It's a 20" Forester bar that I've had for some time but use very little since getting an 18" ms271