Granberg EZ rails leveling rods unscrewing mid-slab - what should I do?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coltree

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi folks, I'm fairly new to csm. Went after this 15" hickory today:

20180908_192029.jpg 20180908_192020.jpg 20180908_192306.jpg 20180908_192136.jpg 20180908_192037.jpg 20180908_192328.jpg 20180908_192319.jpg
My first cut was not completely level, so I put the rails back on to get it the rest of the way level. It's my first time using the EZ rails. Half way through my cut, I looked at the EZ rail and noticed that one of the threaded rods used to level it was spinning. I looked around and saw that 3 others were spinning. Needless to say, the rails were way off level. My cut dipped on the powerhead side by about an inch and stayed level on the other side. I also noticed that my winch line scooted to the middle of the mill. Not sure what was causal...

Another issue I'm having is milling fine dust instead of chips. I'm touching up granberg ripping chain after each cut with a pferd-style stihl sharpener - 6 strokes per tooth. If anyone has tips I'm listening.

Let me know what I need to do to get this hot mess corrected.

Hi folks, I'm fairly new to csm. Went after this 15" hickory today:

View attachment 673724 View attachment 673725 View attachment 673726 View attachment 673727 View attachment 673728 View attachment 673729 View attachment 673730