Hardy H2 water loss

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canatct

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all. I have a problem with a Hardy H2 that’s losing water. The auto fill isn’t connected so I have been adding water manually as needed, which has always been just a few oz and not that often. All of a sudden I noticed the water level in the condenser tank lower than normal. It’s not empty but the water level is low. I add approximately 6-8 oz and the water immediately drops to the previous low level. It was manufactured in 1995 (or 96) and has always worked great until this.
Any suggestions on what might be going on would be greatly appreciated.

I don’t know anything specific about your boiler. However, I am a licensed boiler technician. You have a leak someplace. It’s imperative that you find it and get the auto feed connected to maintain someplace between 15-30 psig (most normal boilers).

Ya but is the Hardy a pressurized boiler?

Definitely sounds like a leak of some kind, if it drops as soon as you re-fill (I think that's what you said?). But it must be a high-up leak, or else it would empty itself completely. But - 6-8 oz. isn't very much water, so I'm a little unclear on what is going on.

(I am not familiar at all with a Hardy itself).

Someone correct me if I’m wrong , but pretty sure the Hardy’s aren’t pressurized. What I described happened while in use. Now that it’s shut down the water level is ok. I called Hardy and they provided contact info for a guy locally that hopefully can help sort this out.

The Hardy is not pressurized.