Has anyone Heard of doing this, or Done this while Mixing Gas/Mix?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bruce Hopf

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
My Great Uncle was a General Mechanic by Trade. He also was almost like a Genius, and if someone couldn't figure out how to fix something, well he could.
When he used to mix up his Gas Mix, he would mix up 2 Gallons at a time. When he measured he would put in one Full Gallon, and add 9/10's of the other Gallon of Gas, to 1 can of Two Gallon Oil Mix.
He always said, that a little less gas would not hurt anything, but a little less oil will. Sure he said, that there would be a little bit of smoke, because of the 1/10th of gas less.
I now have 3 of his Chain Saws, that he was the original owner of them since new, and that is how he always mixed his Gas/Mix. My Dad did it that way, and I've been doing it this way ever since I've been a Chain Saw Owner.
So I was wondering if anyone else has heard of or doing it this way of Mixing Gas/Mix, or not. I don't know, but there has been a lot of Seizures posted here on AS, with fuel related problems, so I thought I'd share this with you.
Bruce.

It's interesting what we will do to gain a little peace of mind. I add one gallon of gas to a 2 gallon can, add my Stihl Utra (the bottle that makes 2.5gallons to get 50:1) and add one more gallon of gas. It comes out to roughly 40:1. Peace of mind achieved!!

I have not heard of your Pop's method before. My guess is that it was just something he did to buy himself a little insurance.