Hello all of you arborists out there. I am as stated a tree planter. One of the biggest controversies out there is of course burlap left on or off.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Treeplanter30plus

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Now I see that most of you say take it off. I am going to say something you don't want to hear but...I leave it on(but always cut away anything from the trunk area so as not to girdle). I have been doing this for over 30 years. I also have multiple plants on my farm brought in from wholesalers that are now proof (to at least myself) that the burlap does biodegrade and its almost always within the first year. So my question to you is since you say some trees are ok with this and some not. What is the ratio of trees with burlap dying vs those without...i find that the most common reason a plant dies is usually related to the customer not maintaining it(90% because they either underwater or overwater). Please give me all your comments on this. Thank you very much.

I have no experience on this so I'm just asking a couple questions - from my analytical background.
Will the roots naturally not spread past the burlap in the first year or will they grow through it?
Does the burlap enhance root growth or introduce possible restriction?
Does leaving it on benefit the tree in any way?
Could leaving it on harm the tree in any way?
Have you buried a piece of burlap for a year and then dug it up to confirm it degraded?
I think I would at least cut the burlap so the upper part of the root ball is open.

I have no experience on this so I'm just asking a couple questions - from my analytical background.
Will the roots naturally not spread past the burlap in the first year or will they grow through it?
Does the burlap enhance root growth or introduce possible restriction?
Does leaving it on benefit the tree in any way?