Help me picking up the right saw! 545 or 550XP ?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JF renovation

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have to make up my mind and I figured asking the pros would be the best way to get real advices. I'm a firm believer that we learn from the best. I have to be honest, I don't know much about chainsaws but I know a whole lot on carpentry tools though. As a general contractor, I understand good tools gets the job done faster with a better results, they don't let you down half way the job done either. So I want to buy a good one, one that will last me a long time with some basic maintenance.

So I just bought 2 acres of land and that's where the interest is coming from regarding the purchase of a chainsaw. I will have small trees to cut down although I don't want to base my purchase on that because it will be mostly use for cutting fire wood. If I have larger trees, I don't mind cutting those with a hand saw if I have to. I don't want to select my chainsaw for a few trees to cut since 90% will be basically cutting fire wood.

I'm good with tools in general but never had the chance to play much with a chain saw so my experience with them is close to half a day on a old small Stihl from my business partner. Anyways, I narrowed down that I want a 50cc, 18'' bar probably. Something light and versatile with good performance without being overkill for me.

After reading lots on this forum I finally narrowed down to two models from Husqvarna, the 545 and the 550XP. And maybe you'll have other models to suggest? Let's take each model and I'll explain what I think about them.

545, formerly the 353: It seems to me that its the exact same saw as the 550XP without revboost and it's $120 less.