help picking chain?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrbb

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
OK, I am not new to chainsaws, been about them for 30+ yrs, gone thru a bunch over the yrs and cut a few acres of trees down over the yrs!,. so have some experience here!

But I am NO expert and maybe there is a better option I don't know about!

I recently came into a bunch of old railroad bridge decking, there 15+ ft long and 12"x12'' thick(they weight about 800 lbs each)
I have gone over area's I plan to cut with a metal detector and its NOT showing any metal in things, but as I cut them I am seeing sparks at times?
there from all I can tell and was told, made of OAK, and there a true 100% creosote soaked timber, like a railroad tie is, but they were soaked some, as they have it leached into them about an inch to 2 inches, then its clean dry wood!

I have been trying to cut them with a older Husky model 55 rancher saw with an 18 inch bar, and some Oregon 72LG068G chain, and it dulls them in two cuts IF that, I then tried cutting them with a Echo CS-355T-16 chain saw and there brand chain that came with saw(I bought several extra chains at time of buying saw, and it zips thru normal tree's really fast been very impressed with this saw)
But its dulling them in a cut as well!

SO< being no expert here and always willing to learn more if I can and use a better tool for the task,
is there a better chain to use on timbers like this??
or is this just one fo them things, that is going to be a pain and slow going job with lots of stops to sharpen/swap chains?

so to anyone that has suggestions, I thank you in advance