Help understanding 046? 066? Purchase plz

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rous

Reaction score
Hello arborists, I am pretty new to the whole tree service field and have been really struggling with my 455 rancher to keep up with the pace. It's worth mentioning that when it comes to saw identification and lineup I only know some basics, that being said, Ive seen a few saws that look like they would fit my needs, a friends ms460 sounds great and looks like a lightsaber when he's cutting with it, another guy uses a johnsered 460 champ older looking saw but they weren't kidding calling it a champ, it wipes the floor with my 455. So looking thru the Craig's/swap/marketplace a week ago a picture caught my eye of a rather meaty looking stihl. The listing said "fresh rebuild 066, new 24" bar/chain" but in the pictures the saw had a big fat 046 across the top, the asking price was 800!! Im sure some of you have 5x that into your saw, and i envy you, but 800 is currently out of my league, i dont even own a vehicle I've paid that much for, lol true story, im not into biggest or baddest, just gets the job doneist.