Hi there. Newbie to the site

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cypressfarms

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi,

I’m a newbie to this site. I make guitars, and prefer to use local woods. (Not my day job, lol)

just sprung for a Husky Rancher 460, along with a chainsaw mill, and some ripping chains. Most mill operators in my area either don’t know, or don’t care to quartersaw lumber. Guitars must have quartersawn lumber.

anyway, cheers, glad to be a part. I did a ton of research and the husky 460 seemed to be the best, with available parts, for what I needed. I got tired of Poulan’s giving out after a year. I won’t be dropping a lot of trees, but each one will require hard work to mill.

any help/advice is greatly appreciated

Welcome aboard! Lots of great advice around here, but this particular area of Arboristsite is not well populated. Other sites (Forestry...Forum) have many more members in the milling section, but it is rather overwhelming over there, especially for a newbie. I'm also new to milling, but I have a Woodmizer sawmill.

I'm surprised you're having trouble finding quartersawn wood. I would think most millers would understand the value of it. Are you on facebook? Lots of millers advertise there now.

As for chainsaw milling, it's pretty hard on the saw, so I'm not surprised a less-than-top-quality saw would give out quickly. Good saw maintenance, keep the chain sharp and well lubed (an additional oiler is a must), and good technique. Give the saw warm-up time after you start it, and cool down time after you finish cutting. About a minute or two each.

So what kinds of questions do you have?

Knowing what kind and size of wood you are milling would be a Big Help in advising you on a saw.

Personally, I would suggest a 372XP, or the 562XP as a minimum, unless you are doing short cuts in small diameter softwoods