HomeMade Alaska Mill

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Demonical

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I made up a chainsaw mill for my Husky 372XP.

I bought a 28" bar and got 2 ripping chains for it... the 28" bar was the longest bar buddy had in stock.

Anyway, it worked well.

I have about 8, 8' birch logs to rip.

I just made my own too. Posted about it over on the other forum....with pictures. ;)

It turned out really well. During the construction I could tell there would be a ton of ways to go about it and I am interested in which way you chose. If I build another I am going to make it fixed at only one bar size.

Sorry, I'm not too good at posting pics, yet the pics tell the story better than I can.

My nephew Matt welded up the mill. He did a pretty decent job (helluva lot better than I could do). But one of the sockets, the vertical brackets fit through, ended up out of kilter by a degree.

That caused the bar to bow down at the end, when the clamps were tightened. I actually ripped 2, 6' logs before I clued in that there was an issue, then shut down the cutting until I could get the socket re-welded.

Still, the 372XP ripped through the logs like nothing, with the bar tip slightly deflected. Produced some nice lumber.

The main thing I see right away, is that the sockets should have been raised up about a half inch, above the surface of the mill. That clearance would allow me to raise the whole mill closer to the base, so I could cut a thinner slab.

The way this is built, about the thinnest slab I can cut is 1-1/2". The easy way to fix that now, would be to attach an extra thickness of flat bar along the bottom of the base, to basically shim it up.

After getting that socket cut off and re-welded, to day I spray painted the chainsaw bar tip guard, and then applied caution stickers to it.