How good to be too good to be true? $60 harness and $30 pantin?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Savan

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm a beginner as some of you may have seen here. Trimmed some dead off about half of my dozen trees and having fun climbing and reading about climbing.

I came across this tree harness and foot ascender on amazon while thinking about changing to SRT to get more out of my rope. does anyone have experience or thoughts on these? any obvious safety problems or flaws in either? I'm thinking for $30 its worth a try on the foot ascender. If it busts on the way up I can always fall back to a foot lock.

harness
ascender

2JG4xVxRW6Qw
2JG4npsI9CAw

I dunno. I'd be more inclined to avoid the harness. Can't find good reviews and the source isn't reputable (that I could find with a quick search.) Personally, I wouldn't trust it. The ascender probably won't handle much abuse, either. Although, I can't really say because of the lack of reviews. Your money is probably better spent buying something from a reputable shop. But hey, if you get the ascender and its pretty good, I wanna know about it.

Luck to ya.

Its YOUR life and YOUR money. Do with it what you please, someone has to review those products. If your not doing production work, they may pan out for you. For the harness keep an eye on the stitching, it looks to be way more comfortable then the weaver wide-back that was my first harness. For sure if the foot ascender works and takes a beating I would also like to hear about it. Its about half price of a CT ascender.