How many logs will fit on log truck?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodchuckerwood

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to logging, and will start in a couple of months. I have a lot of large red oak trees, that are about 22" by 45 feet to first branch. Trees maintain close to same gurth most of the way to top of tree. The online calculator said about 1180 bf with international scale. I was told a log truck will hold 4000-5000 bf. If this is true, I would only need 5 trees to make load, does this sound wright?

Thanks

I am new to logging, and will start in a couple of months. I have a lot of large red oak trees, that are about 22" by 45 feet to first branch. Trees maintain close to same gurth most of the way to top of tree. The online calculator said about 1180 bf with international scale. I was told a log truck will hold 4000-5000 bf. If this is true, I would only need 5 trees to make load, does this sound wright?

Thanks

Most logging trucks load to a maximum gross weight, whatever is permitted in your area. If they have onboard scales you should be able to get a decent load on.

Board feet is, in a way, secondary when you're trying to max out a load. You try for all you can get, legally, but the gross weight determines a max load.

When your load gets to the mill you might find out that your scale and the mill scale are two different things. Keep an eye on that.

It takes one HELL of a big tall oak tree to get 1100 bf in one tree. Not saying there's no such thing, but I have never seen it here in NH.

A tri-axle log truck will take 3500-3800 BF of oak and be "legal" weight or even a bit over.

Take some pictures of the trees with an object in front for scale....I know they get big down your way, but 1100 per tree is some spectacular oak...I'd like to see it.