How many times

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kugss

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
How many climbs did it take to get over being a little shakey and getting use too new gear?

How many climbs did it take to get over being a little shakey and getting use too new gear?

Well, it depends what you mean. I've been climbing countless times since I started a few years ago. I never got that shaky down low, but there are times even now when I'm high enough out at the tips where I can still get a bit nervous. Especially when the wind kicks up. My buddy still doesn't like to leave the main trunk or biggest branches, or go above 50-60'. I'm sure there are others that have few issues after only a few climbs. My opinion is that it's ok to push your comfort level a little bit, but progress slowly and carefully. Getting too comfortable can lead to carelessness and mistakes.

As for new gear or techniques, keep it low until you know it well and are very comfortable with it. After that, taking it higher shouldn't be an issue at all.

:cheers:

.....My buddy still doesn't like to leave the main trunk or biggest branches, or go above 50-60'. .....

I'm working on that :buttkick:

I think of it like parachuting. If you're not nervous, you shouldn't be doing it because it means you are not constantly thinking about safer ways to do things. I still get nervous, not deer in the headlights nervous, but if my lanyard or safety failed right now, would I be ok. If my saw cuts my line am I going to be okay, where is this limb going to swing, is my line clear, will the tail of my lanyard get snagged by the piece I am cutting. Things like that.

I'm working on that :buttkick: