How old is it? and what is the heck is a Magnum

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ryanparks

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Since I am new to this chainsaw business I do not know much about them. My first question is how do I tell how old the saw is when I am looking at used ones? (husky or Stihl) Second whats with all the different models, like Magnum, Super, Av Super, Pro, XP? What are those suppose to mean? Are older saws better than newer saws?

because bigger is always better, I thought , now I am not sure??????????:confused:

i prefer proven models no matter who makes it . sooner or later im going for the husky that i finally decide on.heard to much good on them . do know itll be a pro model.magnum ,super etc mean slightly improved power usually. pro and xp ,mean saw has the makings to stand daily work . or at least its suppose to.
i think the poulan pro is a play on the words pro. my problem with these is really just the cheap cutting set up they come with.
i owned the 260 and it worked fine except chain wanted to jump track
and that sorta thing . alas it was stolen.good luck looking for a saw.most o my saws were stolen so opted for a quick fix with a craftsman store return. little 36 cc 14 inch bar . cant fault it
ive since got the saws i prefer and more ,but im not a bit ashamed to be seen w this craftsman.later now

In the case of Stihl:

0XX - First model
0XX Super - Update to first model (more power and/or features)
0XX Super AV - Same as above + antivibration feature
0XX Magnum - Even more power than Super, usually the latest rev of the model.

Sometimes Stihl has a 0XX and 0XX PRO - Pro can include features such as compression release and intellicarb.

Late model Stihl's have side tensioners, see thru fuel tanks, and elastostart. Model numers are MSXXX.

Medium late model Stihl's have see thru fuel tanks.