How to cut question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

silentbob

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm using my time home to clean up around my property and specifically around the creek. Now I have a tree that fell across a small swail/ditch and I have a few that fell across the creek, so my question is: how would one approach cutting these trees? I have a fair amount of experience with saws and cutting trees; however, I am not a professional, don't play one on TV, or pretend to be anything other than a homeowner who cuts up and splits down timber for firewood. I don't have a big ego so I'm perfectly fine if the advice is to leave them alone or hire a professional, just didn't know if there is a simple IMG_0348.jpgIMG_0351.jpgIMG_0355.jpgIMG_0348.jpgIMG_0351.jpgIMG_0355.jpgtrick to cutting a tree like the ones in my pictures. Thanks.

Tom

One approach is to pull the tree out of its bridged position. Use a tractor (best), a pickup (usually works), or a come-along if that's all you've got, although it's slow going. Regardless of what you pull with, if the tree doesn't budge you may have to carve off some bits to reduce its weight or friction-producing capacity. Look especially to remove those limbs that are locked up against something. You'll have to use chain or good strong rope for pulling (or wire rope if you have it), and be careful not to use under-capacity line that could break and recoil toward you.