How would you deal with this storm damage?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SpacemanSpiff23

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
ghBZ6pe.jpg
These were at a local disc golf course that got hit by a storm. The one mostly standing is about 20" diameter. I'm not under them. The trunk on the right is broken and twisted about 2 feet up from the ground. I am an amateur/volunteer chainsaw owner and went out to clean up any trees that were already down. I have enough experience to know that I do not have enough experience to even touch this mess. It was taken down this morning by someone but they didn't say how they did it. What would be the best/safest way to get these down without a crane or large equipment?

While we're talking about storm damage, how often do pros get their bars pinched in blown down trees and tangles of branches?

a drive set track basket machine works well.
and they can be rented.
always start with all of the branches that are not touching any thing for a shift of the tree.
v cut a bit on the top side in the middle.
then a cut from the bottom side up till it is ready to drop.
then finish chunking it on the ground.

experience comes from doing.
and it is best to have a ground crew when you are working!!
safety harness is a must.
always have plenty of wedges on hand... the plastic wedges are the best for new users...

Is there a safe way to do it from the ground? I don't think you could get anything bigger than a wheelbarrow back to this spot. I assume it was done from the ground.

Is there a safe way to do it from the ground? I don't think you could get anything bigger than a wheelbarrow back to this spot. I assume it was done from the ground.
Safe way is from the ground put a strong rope up high in it and pull from a safe distance in hopes of disloging it. you dont want to be near a tree like that if you arent experienced.