Husky 235 - worth fixing?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OM617YOTA

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Howdy folks, new member, first post.

TL;DR, skip down.

I'm a homeowner firewood cutter. Main saw is an 034AV Super for firewood use, and a battery electric Kobalt for the occasional limb around the house. I am by no means an expert, but I can sharpen a chain and tune a saw.

I bought a Simpson capstan winch for dragging rounds and logs out of the woods and back to the truck, and traded some junk I had laying around to a neighbor for a powerhead to run the thing. Turned out to be a Husky 235. Started fine and P&C looked good through the exhaust port so I said sure. The primer bulb should have tipped me off, and I should have read the reviews first..........

Got some issues with it(surprise surprise). Starts fine, runs OK at first, four strokes like it should when revved, then won't four stroke when revved, and keeps leaning out until it dies. I'm maybe 65% sure a $20 carb kit and the splined tool to actually tune the thing will put it right.

TL;DR-> Right now this saw is destined for the trash can, unless the brain trust here says that yes a $20 carb kit and a tune will put it right. I'm aware that it won't last anywhere close to as long as a pro saw, regardless. I've never once regretted paying more for a higher quality tool, but sure have regretted trying to cheap out, and don't intend to waste another $20 on top of what I have in the saw already. Out in the woods with a cord or two of wood to drag is not the place I want to be messing with a PITA tool.

What say the brain trust?

I have a lewis winch with a xl12 power head, about the right power and weight.
More importantly to me at least is it has no plastic to destroy when using it.
A winch leads a rough life.
Seems like a 235 is a mite small.