Husky 357xp chain runs on idle. Fixed - oil pump drive gear wrecked...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kourgath

Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been a lurker for a while - ever since my Father-in-Law mentioned getting rid of his 357xp. This is a thanks to all previous posts and maybe might help someone else. I'm a new user but did spend a few years as a teen I helping out a tree surgeon. I'm only firewood working. I'm not a mechanic but have meddled with engines (built a few up) and also stuff on my Land Rover.

Anyway, first use by me and I couldn't get it to idle without chain moving so I cut down 3 trees that were dangerous but saw getting harder to start. Next time out I couldn't start it. Considered dodgy fuel as that was the only thing changed (and a little old but still runs in my Tanaka brushcutter). Aspen in to ensure not fuel. Started but only when chain-brake off and the chain turned at idle. If I put chain brake on the engine stopped immediately.

After much reading on here and a UK site (I'm in Cornwall, UK) everyone was clear on the clutch being the issue. Visual inspection and clutch OK, eventually removed using rope trick. Husky manual says if diameter less than 65mm then replace. Clutch measured 66.19mm. Clutch bell/drive quite dark (blued - overheated?). Oil pump drive plastic stuck on bottom of bell. Once removed the oil pump drive looked a bit mangled. I had ordered the full clutch kit so had new oil pump drive to compare it to thankfully otherwise I would not have thought hard enough!

357xp_oilpump_drive_clutch_stuck_on.jpg

[White one is the new genuine drive sprocket for comparison purposes.]