Husky 395 help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goosecall1

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys i have a 395 that i really dont cut with other then racing against some buddys i have the big bore kit in her but i want it faster any pointers with out dumping tone of money in her?? Thanks

How big is the wood your racing? What size sprocket are you running? A good square ground chain will add speed also. Does your saw have a muffler mod? Next step would be porting it. There are lots of porting threads in this section and the chainsaw section.

How big is the wood your racing? What size sprocket are you running? A good square ground chain will add speed also. Does your saw have a muffler mod? Next step would be porting it. There are lots of porting threads in this section and the chainsaw section.

Sweet thanks but i am new to this all its a stock sprocket log size around 18 .i am running a 20 inch bar with full chisel chain. What dose square mean can you walk me through the muffler mods thank you so much we have a race this weekend

Square ground chain is the fastest cutting chain you can buy . Even faster if you can learn to sharpen it yourself. The wood has to be clean though. No dirt or mud because it dulls faster. Here is the Baileys link. Bailey's - 20" Oregon Chainsaw Chain Loop I will get a pic of one of my race chains to give you a better idea of what square ground chain looks like. I will also get a pic of a muff mod as well. Its very simple and you can get decent gains from it. That big 395 would cut faster if you put a 8 tooth sprocket on it as well. I assume it has a 7 on it now?