Husqvarna 50 Rancher chokes itself out without extra throttle

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lot_lizard

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I need some help from the elder gods on this one. I have 7 mid-90s to early 2k Huskies (5 are XPs), older McCullochs, etc. Only saying because I am new to forum but not this hobby, and all run like tops with frequent maintenance. I had the opportunity to pick up a gem mint 1984 silver tagged white top 50 Rancher that has MAYBE been started a handful of times in its life. I am a newbie to this carb.

It starts/runs great if I give it throttle, but the butterfly immediately chokes the engine out if I don’t give constant switch pressure. The throttle screw is pegged all the way down, but still doesn’t give enough air to keep idle or start on its own (not even a crack of daylight). I would be SHOCKED if this wasn’t the stock carb given how pristine the inside of the this top cover is (the original air filter looks brand new, and he said he never replaced it once), but I haven’t verified numbers on the carb. Needles (L/H) are where they should be and runs great throughout the power band. What am I missing?

There is no independent choke on the carb itself (this part is new to me... it’s that silly air filter vacuum seal from pressure by the top lid itself). I have the top off for this exercise, so the “odd” choke is a non-factor. I don’t see any additional butterfly or throttle adjustments possible. Again... What am I missing? I really don’t want to take it apart because it really is “as new”

The high is perfect. The low I believe is good if I hold the throttle speed at 2500 rpm. Sounds flawless between 2.5k and 12.5k. The idle screw does not keep the throttle open enough to maintain 2.5k rpm even if fully seated. I have to keep pressure on the switch. I don’t see the contradictions, but I agree it is odd