ICB totes

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sb47

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I have been using the baskets that the ICB totes come in to store firewood in. Mostly for the short scrap cut offs that can't be stacked to keep the wood off the ground and in nice neat storage. They work great.
I have been collecting them hear and there for several years where ever I can find them cheap or even free. Most come with the plastic tote in them witch has chimerical that have been stored it so there not good for potable water.
I finally found a place that does retread tires and they have stacks and stacks of them so I asked if I could get or buy a few from them. I picked up 8 totes yesterday and removed the plastic tubs out of them and was worried how I was going to get rid of them without taking them to the land fill.
I posted an add on CL for free yesterday afternoon and by 8 pm I had at least 7 calls of people wanting them. One guy just wanted 1. another guy wanted them all, and some lady wanted several, and still another guy called this morning wanting some.
I get calls all the time from CL people and most show up but many do not. I sure hope they all are gone today. If so I'll go get another load today. Guy sold them to me for 10 bucks each. I have about 50 of them so far and I could use 50 more.
My only problem is I don't have a forklift to load a fully loaded basket into a truck or trailer. My goal is to somehow load the whole basket and charge a deposit and have them bring them back once they empty them.
Here are the plastic tots after I removed them from the baskets.
IMG_4914.JPG
Here are how I store wood in them.
IMG_4916.JPG
Here are the new ones I picked up yesterday.
IMG_4918.JPGIMG_4919.JPG