Increasing the growth rate of Blue Spruce

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmontana

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I planted four Blue Spruce trees last spring. They were 6 foot tall (including the root ball) and we planted them about eight feet apart in a raised berm that is eight feet across and two feet tall in the center. They seem to be doing well, but I'm wondering what I can do to boost their growth rate. On a recent trip to Home Depot I spotted some 'evergreen fertilizer spikes' that you push into the ground near the tree but I've never used such a thing before. Any suggestions?

I would venture to suggest that "boosting the growth rate" is not the best thing to do for newly planted trees. Overfertilizing to create faster growth oftem makes a tree sacrifice defenses, making it more susceptible to diseases and insects. A layer of organic mulch or better yet compost, under these trees will help them establish well. Also be sure they are receiving sufficent water. Trees in a raised berm, can dry out quite rapidly.

Good luck!

talk to your co. extension agent, get your soil tested, and add what it needs.

Ditto on the overfert scenario; cytospora canker etc thrive on excess nitrogen.

I don't like the spikes. This type of fertilizer is mostly nitrogen, which burns roots. Let's say you put 5 spikes in around your tree, in an area around each of the spikes it will burn the roots. Then as you get away from the spike about 4 or 5 inches, there will be an area of soil that is getting a dose of nitrogen that may be correct.
So you end up with 5 little circles of burned roots, each with an area around them of about 6" with high nitrogen levels. Then the majority of the root area is unaffected. It would be much better to take 5 nice dog tirds and place them around the tree.