info on lot clearing jobs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timothy Kasulin

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
hi everyone. I am Looking for some info on loit clearing. I am new to the business and what i needn to know is when you do a lot clearing job who is responsible for removing the stumps so the earth can be dug up thank you:blob2:

That should be specified in the bid to the developer. They will usually tell you if they want the stumps dug out or just hit with a stump grinder so they can dig. Around here, stump grinding is what they want. Their digging equipment can handle the smaller roots.
You shouldn't have to haul grindings, but be sure to get specifics on grinding requirements (depth, size of roots you can leave, etc.) so you can communicate with your grinder sub and not have callbacks.

Last edited:
Originally posted by Timothy Kasulin
hi everyone. I am Looking for some info on loit clearing. I am new to the business and what i needn to know is when you do a lot clearing job who is responsible for removing the stumps so the earth can be dug up thank you:

thank you tree climber165 ill make sure i go over that stuff in bidding each job

Have a big chipper with auto feed and a skid loader to push the stuff through it. They will pay for themselves.

Look into rentin a hydrostumper on big jubs with lots of brush, you can blast out a lot of acreage with those fast, then change heads and do stumps.

jOHN THANKS FOR THE ADVICE iVE NEVER OPERATED ONE OF THOSE BEFORE BUT IT SOUNDS FUN
I havent gotten very many calls for lot jobs yet but I hope to soon be expanding.
I mostly do residential work --- take downs and trims
When you price a lot clearing job how do you figure ou what to charge What things do you look at to give an estimate

Thanks again